Founded in 1839, the University of Chester pre-dates all but a handful of other English higher education providers. The University today is a 21st-century university that is still guided by the principles that founded the institution. Open, inclusive and supportive, they are committed to creating an outstanding learning experience and supporting every student to reach their full potential.


Originally based on one campus in Chester, they now offer an extensive range of Single and Combined Honours courses to over 20,000 students across a number of specialist sites within the region. This includes five sites in Chester; a campus in Warrington; a University Centre in Shrewsbury; and University Centre Reaseheath in Nantwich, which houses their new Faculty of Agriculture and Veterinary Science.


The University of Chester is also pleased to work closely with neighbouring colleges with whom they share a number of Foundation Degrees, and a common interest in promoting progression to, and awareness of, higher education opportunities within the region.